Hummus: Any Way You Want It!

 

Who doesn’t love hummus?  There are a lot of recipes with garbonzo beans and Tahini Paste.  I think these are okay, but I really like the fresh taste of using different kinds of beans with a variety of herbs and spices for flavor.   Avocado might be my new favorite addition to hummus.  It adds a delicious flavor and creamy smoothness.  Yummy.

If you like store bought, you will LOVE the versatility and fresh flavor of home made hummus.  It has good protein, healthy fat and fiber.  I make it about once a week and take it for lunch on a whole grain tortilla or with crudites.  I change it up constantly using different beans, herbs and spices so I don’t get bored!  This week I included fresh basil and parsley with the Northern Beans and cilantro, lime juice and chili poweder with Black Beans.  They tasted like Spring!

Great Northern Beans Reduced Sodium                                   Goya Black Beans in Can

Great Northern Bean OR Black Bean Hummus (6 servings)

1 Can Great Northern Beans OR 1 Can Black Beans
2T Garlic, chopped
2-3 T Olive Oil
Salt, Pepper, Chili Powder, Paprika

1.  RInse beans well in a colander.  (This prevents much of the GI distress some people believe are a result of eating beans.)
2. Combine all ingredients in a food processor and process until smooth.  It takes longer than you think to get it really smooth.

                        

Nutritional Info (Great Northern Beans):  Calories: 96, Protein: 4gm, Fat: 5gm, Carbs: 10, Sodium: 390, Fiber: 3gm

Nutritional Info (Black Beans):  Calories: 122, Protein: 4gm, Fat: 5gm, Carbs: 12, Sodium: 375, Fiber: 4gm

Please give them a try and let me know what you think!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Hummus: Any Way You Want It!

  1. Sarah Wells says:

    Yummy! I have always wanted to try making my own hummus! 🙂 I’m in a store-bought roasted red pepper hummus rut, so thanks for the suggestions! Do you just add about half an avocado?

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

    • Shelley Munch, RDN says:

      Yes. I use about 1/2 of an avocado for 1 can of beans and a handful of cilantro. If I add a squeeze or two of lime juice, I decrease the amount of olive oil just to save calories. If it is still too thick in the food processor, just add more oil. Since you mentioned red pepper hummus, I have roasted a red pepper in the oven or on the grill, peeled it and addedd to the food processor with both the black beans and northern beans. You can also buy roasted red pepper in a jar, just to make it simpler. I’m really glad you liked the recipe!

      Like

Leave a Reply

