Sausage, Pasta and Tomatoes in a Skillet

You might have noticed, many of the recipes on this site are made in a skillet.  I’m all about easy to make and easy to clean.  I add some cut-up veggies or fruit to round out the meal.

Ingredients:
1.  1# Italian Turkey Sausage
2.  1C Tomato Sauce (it may be pasta or pizza sauce or can of straight tomato sauce)
3.  1 can tomatoes, diced or chopped
4.  8oz pasta, small is easiest to manage in skillet
5.  Small bag (6-8oz) of Baby Spinach leaves
5.  1 cup Mozzarella Cheese, part-skim
6.  1 1/2 cup nearly boiling water

Directions:
1. Cook sausage thoroughly & drain.
2.  Add tomatoes, sauce, pasta and water.  Boil.
3.  Cover pan and decrease temperature to a simmer until pasta is al dente (~12 minutes).
4. Add spinach. Stir in mixture.  Turn off heat and add cheese.

Nutrition Info (serves 8):  Calories: 259, Carbohydrate: 27gm, Protein: 20gm, Fat: 8gm, Fiber: 2gm, Sodium: 695

I’d love to hear if you make and like this recipe!

2 thoughts on “Sausage, Pasta and Tomatoes in a Skillet

  1. Jessica May says:

    This sounds delicious. I will try to make this later in the week. I’ll let you know how it turns out. I’m not sure how to follow the blog. I don’t see a follow button.

    Like

    • Shelley Munch, RDN says:

      I am glad you think it looks good! My family is always happy when it is in the menu. You should be able to sign up to follow my blog on the far right side of the Front Page. All you should have to do is enter your email address. If you have any problems, let me know!

      Like

Leave a Reply

