Taco Soup

My goal is to always have the ingredients I need, on hand, to make this soup.   In fact, if I’m lucky, I will have frozen, cooked ground beef or turkey, in my freezer  so it is even easier to throw together.  This is one of the recipes that you can make as healthy as you want to make it.  I’ll give you the basics here and offer suggestions below.

Taco Soup
Serves: 6

Ingredients
1.5# lean ground Beef 93/7
1 can Black Beans (or any other kind of beans you desire)
1 can Corn
1 can diced Tomatoes
1 can Tomato Sauce
1 can Beef Broth
1 small Onion, diced
1 packet Taco Seasoning

Directions:
1.  Cook ground beef, add onion and sauté.  Drain.
2.  Add all ingredients to large pan or crock pot.   The soup just needs to get hot, so the time it takes depends on the temperature of your stove or crock pot.  I will place in crock pot for about 3-4 hours on low or on stove for about an hour on medium/low.
3.  Add your favorite toppings.  See below.

Nutritional Info:  Calories: 323, Carbohydrates: 31gm, Protein: 29gm, Fat: 9gm, Fiber: 5gm, Sodium: 1503.

So, pretty healthy recipe to start, but you could easily reduce the fat and sodium by decreasing the amount of ground beef or using shredded chicken or ground turkey.   It is easy to reduce salt by rinsing the corn and beans in a colander and making your own taco seasoning.  You can add fiber by increasing to two different kinds of beans.   It can be an easy meatless meal by eliminating the meat and using vegetable broth instead of the beef broth.  When I have skipped the meat, I have added a cup of brown rice or whole grain noodles for substance but you don’t need to do it.  If I need to provide more than a bowl of soup, I’ll heat whole wheat tortillas in the oven with a little mozzarella and paprika sprinkled on top.  I leave in the oven until cheese is melted and yummy.

I mentioned adding your favorite toppings.   Our favorites include corn chips, avocado, cilantro, sour cream (I ALWAYS substitute plain greek yogurt for sour cream), or cheese.  Just remember, the toppings can add calories.

If you make this recipe, let me know what you think.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

